Many employers believe that good social skills are as important as good qualifications to succeed in a job, so they are employing people who are with good social skills. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is commonly believed that the better qualified, the better outcome it will be. Although this may be true, good social skills are also required in order to work as a team. In my point of view, I highly agree that social skills play an essential role in modern society, especially in the workplace. In accordance with recent research conducted by several organisations around the world, employees prefer to work with people who are highly socialised. Approximately 80% of the respondents agreed that they felt way more comfortable and could work much more efficiently when they were with those types of colleagues. Further, they had positive experiences in problem-solving while they were working with co-workers who are with great social skills. Moreover, the participants pointed out that they were not only working together with those kinds of people but also making some friends. On the other hand, surveys taken in major companies over the world revealed that people struggled when they worked with others who were not socialised. According to a response, for instance, a team had a big project with 40 members and everyone had a great qualification. While the team members were trying to figure out one specific issue altogether, one of them was only focusing on something else he was assigned. Although it could not be considered his fault, it made everyone feel unpleasant. In conclusion, it seems good social skills are the vital cog in the society machine, particularly at work where people gather. Therefore, good social skills must be taken into account as much as good qualifications to make a balance.