Children do not respect their parents as much as they did in the past. This behaviour is now having a negative impact on society.’ Discuss.

Nowadays, we are all becoming aware of the fact that children are more disrespectful to their parents compared to the past. This behaviour shows the value that is given by their parents. To begin with, I would like to understand what is “respect” for anyone. It is talking properly or in a manner, listening to them all over the time, or never arguing with them I would also like to mention that this notion of respect was prevalent with older generations. For example, my mother used to narrate that she always has to listen to her mother irrespective of the fact that she believes in it or not. As per her, this is her respect towards her mother. However, this perception stands as a distorted perception among this generation. Regarding someone is something that is demanded not only by elders but also by younger ones as well. In today's era, ‘Respect” is not only open to abiding by what elders say, instead, you can give your viewpoint and hence agree to disagree. For instance, I am open to giving my opinion about what I feel when I talk to my father. I have an environment where I can give my opinion and hence take my own decision. This is not considered as any act of disrespect. Yet, this is considered as a negative impact on the community as the people are stuck with the older perception of appreciation. In conclusion, our community should develop in such a way that everyone gets a chance to put their opinion in a respectful tone irrespective of their age. This will help to build a better nation where children will automatically learn to give their regard when they receive appreciation.