According to an international travel magazine, many tourists today fly straight to their holiday resort and almost never leave it. Unlike tourist in the 1960s and 70s, they return home with no experience of the local culture. Why do you think this happen? How was tourism different in the past?

It is said that back in the day, travellers were more optimistic and tried to fulfil their trips with remarkable memories, whereas tourists in the digital world usually lock themselves in luxurious hotels and hardly come outside. The main reason for these passive actions is that the infrastructures of the resorts are too attractive and comfortable, in contrast with the tourist attractions. This also makes huge differences in the attitudes of explorers in the past compared to now. Tourism has developed massively, facilitating homestay modernization to suit all walks of life, making them not even want to go to their planned destinations. Thus, instead of going out under the beaming sun or strolling in freezing weather, the majority decide to stay in their lavish resorts and enjoy watching a movie on up-to-date television. This laziness can also be caused by dreary investments in tourist attractions. For instance, lots of travellers came to Vung Tau, a well-known destination in Viet Nam, and had fun in their hostels all the time because the weather was boiling and the ‘transparently turquoise beach’ was nothing but the beach filled with smelly trash. Explorers in the past were more enthusiastic and adventurous than visitors nowadays. Not being able to access technological gadgets, they usually had a thirst for adventure and an ignited desire to view fascinating heritages with their naked eyes. Additionally, facilities in the old days were slightly tedious and inconvenient, so the itchy foot would rather sightsee the extraordinarily cultural world than lie at home doing nothing. For example, old travellers are usually called ‘all-embracing books’ and have more captivating stories than young tourists. To sum up, backpackers in the past had a soft spot for comprehending new values, while sightseers in this day and age are quite timid due to the comfort they gain when staying in their cosy rooms. Personally, every activity is totally acceptable if individuals think it is worth their money.