Many parents are unhappy with the amount of violence in video games, TV programs and other leisure activities. How harmful could this be to children? What could be done to solve this problem?

Nowadays, youngsters spend most of their time on gadgets such as TV, laptops and mobile phones. Parents are concerned about the type of content their kids are watching. Video games, movies and songs contain a high amount of violence and promote gun culture, to say the least. This is a huge problem that requires intervention as young minds preach what they see around them. The main problem here is the mental health of youngsters. No one can deny the fact that children are more involved in gadgets these days. They spend their leisure time playing video games or watching tv shows. For example, there was one very popular game called PUBG Battlegrounds in which one has to collect guns and kill people, and children got so much addicted to the game that a few countries had to ban it. These visuals make them feel that violence is a normal part of society. Furthermore, studies have shown that increased screen time in children has adverse effects on their mental health. They tend to have anxiety issues and other health disorders like speech delay. The first possible solution to minimise the effect of violence can be to reduce screen time. Parents should motivate their kids to get involved in more outdoor sports and socialise which can be beneficial for their future. It will help them to grow as an individual. For instance, when kids go out and play in groups, they learn to work in teams and their social skills are improved. Another solution can be, the governments can make strict laws and orders like proper reviewing of tv shows, games and movies before releasing them to the audiences. Thus, with these measures, the effects can be minimised. To conclude, as stated in the aforementioned statements, the trend is risky for the young generations and to minimise the effects, parents and governments should be more cautious. They should help them to know and understand the difference between good and bad entertainment. The government should do proper screening to check if the content should be shown to the kids.