In some poorer areas of large cities people are too afraid to leave their houses at night time due to a fear of crime. What are the causes of crime in those areas and what can be done to tackle those problems?

Historically, it seems that Wahid Hasyim’s thoughts emerged in Indonesian circumstances where there was a polarization between government schools, established by Dutch colonial, which was concerned to produce skilful employees for the colonial government and the pesantren education which tend to preserve Islamic teaching and avoiding secular subjects such as science, foreign languages, including social sciences that were considered as a part of the colonial system. Unsurprisingly, there were many Muslim clerics, particularly from the NU circle, who considered Hasyim’s ideas unsuitable with pesantren’s values. Wahid Hasyim stated that pesantren is not only a centre for students who want to be ulama but also for those who want to develop life skills. Therefore, as can be seen in Madrasah Nizamiyah, the curriculum was not merely Islamic teachings but provide a wide variety of secular subjects. Moreover, Wahid Hasyim offered some progressive ideas such as students as a subject of learning and professionalism for the teachers. These notions are what the author called the basic thoughts of freedom of learning that will be discussed in the following paragraphs.