In many countries, tourism is a major part of the economy, but it also causes environmental damage and ruins the places it exploits. It is argued that tourists should pay an additional tax to compensate for this damage. Do you agree?

There are a lot of countries whose economic systems strictly depend on tourism. Consequently, these places are paying with natural beauty to become more guest friendly. It is argued that introducing a small tourist fee may help to prevent severe environmental damage. As a person who cares about our earth, I cannot agree more with this, because extra financing with proper control may support non-governmental institutions as well as motivate guests to be more concerned about the local environment. Many may say that any additional payment will speed up the process of destruction of the environment because it will finance building more places for tourists. However, I believe that strict management of the income from taxes may bring more resources for private companies and communities which suffocate without money to preserve the environment. Currently, such management mainly relies on charity and support from local citizens to propagate the non-urban development of hiking paths in the mountains or cleaning beaches. For example, in my hometown, we have more than fifty non-commercial institutions which aimed to clean the forests but do nothing because of the financial crisis. If local governments introduce new taxes and pass the money to these companies, they will have a chance to compete with giant corporations which currently feed on the urbanisation of the wild areas. Secondly, some will argue that tourist fees may act as an excuse for rubbishing nature. On the one hand, it might be true, but on the other, it certainly will bring more attention and motivate guests to be more careful with nature. It happens because tourists will learn the hard way that any destruction costs money and they are already paying for it. For instance, a similar discipline mechanism is already used in corporate cultures of the bug IT companies where all employees pay a little tax to keep the office clean. In conclusion, tourism is the most critical part of the economy of many countries and we cannot ignore it. Thus, competent distribution of taxes may help to preserve the balance between the comfort of the tourists and environmental safety. I strongly believe that controlled additional investment may bring positive changes in a neverending battle between human greed and nature.