Some people believe that hobbies need to be difficult to be enjoyable. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many people consider that a particular level of difficulty is needed for pastimes to be pleasurable. I completely disagree with this idea, since what types of leisure activities people like depends mainly on each individual’s personality and preferences. From a personal perspective, it is arguable that certain recreational activities lack the element of difficulty, leading to some people believing less amount of joy is brought to us by them. For instance, pastimes such as watching a movie or listening to music might be considered by some as boring or not enjoyable enough, since the lack of appeal and excitement on the outlook. However, we cannot assume the importance of these simple acts of relaxation on people, because we have no way of knowing what those individuals’ needs are during their time of leisuring. Furthermore, the way people spend their free time is mostly determined by their personalities and their needs. For example, some may prefer to be a couch potato when they have free time, and yet this simple act can be fun to him or her as much as going out and doing sports are for others. Some people are fond of things that are physically or mentally challenging, while others crave something relaxing and soothing. For example, someone may enjoy playing a game of chess while the other may love to listen to music when they are taking a break from work or study. Neither one nor the other is of greater importance; meaning that everyone can feel rewarding and relaxed after spending a particular amount of time doing something that they love. To conclude, I am against the advocates who have the idea of hobbies needing to be difficult to be enjoyable, because the idea of leisure activities are very subjective and personal to every unique individual.