Telecommuting ' refers to workers doing their jobs from home for part of each week and communicating with their office using computer technology .Telecommuting is growing in many countries and is expected to be common for most office workers in the coming decades .How do you think society will be affected by the growth of telecommuting ?

The spread of telecommuting is sure to have far-reaching effects on society. By itself, telecommuting refers to office workers spending much of their time working from home and using electronic technologies to communicate with their employers. From my perspective, the broader implications of telecommuting may involve changes to corporate structure, workers ' lifestyles and even urban planning. The most obvious changes may be apparent in the ' normal ' offices of companies, governments and other organisations. If even half the working week is spent telecommuting from home, then we would expect many empty desks in the office. As offices grow smaller, employees coming in for the day would be expected to share desks with their absent colleagues. This, in turn, may affect the social atmosphere of an organisation, however, as less social contact with one ' s colleagues could harm morale and loyalty. For the individual office worker, telecommuting would mean spending more time at home.For a parent with young children, this may be a blessing. additionally, many telecommuters would be able to work the hours they wished: having a nap in the afternoon, for example, but working some hours in the evening. One substantial benefit for all telecommuting teams is that there will be no need to travel to work, allowing more free time. In conclusion, although telecommuting may present some challenges for companies, the positive impacts on the company and society, including the global operation of the enterprise and environmental sustainability and diversity, make this form of work an advantageous option for all stakeholders involved.