Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and interests, and whether they are married or single. Some people say that this information may be relevant and useful. Others, however, disagree. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, many companies ask individuals to share private details with them, such as extra-curricular activities and hobbies people are involved in, also information about their relationship status. Some organisations believe that data of this kind might be helpful to understand the characteristics of a person in a better way before he/she joins the company. However, others say that such details could be confidential, and the employer must not ask for such details in the first place. This essay will dictate both statements and provide views on the same. Firstly, many establishments have made it mandatory in their terms and conditions section to ask candidates to disclose private details as the initial step of the recruiting process. To elaborate, they notify the recruitment team to add certain questions in the first contact with the job opportunist in a format of a questionnaire or a screening call. For instance, A survey was conducted for the "Google" company, under which the employment agencies were told to ask people about their personal details to verify the authenticity of the individuals joining their workplace. On the other hand, there are a set of people who do not intend to share such information because they find it irrelevant, and sharing such particulars about them could breach the code of privacy for those individuals. To cite an example, there are a lot of fake recruiting agencies available in the job market which misuses the personal information of job applicants and create fake identities to scam the public. In addition, there have been a lot of cases recently registered where a lot of people got scammed, so to avoid certain circumstances many people insist on not disclosing their privacy to anyone. To conclude, we must authenticate the source completely before sending any data to the other party. Moreover, after we found out that the company is genuine then it would be a wise step to share the required information.