Some companies and organisations require their employees to wear uniforms. What are the advantages and disadvantages of wearing uniform?

Wearing homogeneous dress in the workplace has become a debatable issue these days. While having a dress has many positives, its negatives should not be underestimated. This essay shall discuss both pros and cons of wearing a uniform. There are numerous benefits of why employees are asked to have systematic attire while working. Firstly, it is to create uniformity among workers regardless of their designation. In simple words, it bridges the gap between superiors and subordinates. Moreover, when workers have inflexible attire, they become the walking advertisement for the concerned corporation. Owing to which, business corporations and associations will get popularity, publicity and exposures. Moreover, workwear glorifies the organisation's reputation and gives a professional and executive look which ultimately helps clients to build a sense of trust with the firm. Last but not the least, with the introduction, labourers do not have to wonder what to wear or whether it would be appropriate for work or not. The negative facet of setting up a dress code cannot be ignored since it completely vanishes the freedom of employees as some individuals show their emotions and creativity with the attire. As a result, they might feel dissatisfied and unhappy when they are asked to wear an apparel. Additionally, a sense of awkwardness arises when the public stares while wage earners leave for work, thereby making them uncomfortable at work which affects their productivity and efficiency. To sum up, having a homogeneous outfit gives the feeling of team work among workers and acts as a growth factor for an organisation. Nevertheless, mental satisfaction of individuals are of paramount importance as they are the pillar of every corporation. So, it should be made mandatory to fix a day once a week where a worker can wear formals of his choice. With this practice, both the protocol of having a uniform and worker's contentment could be easily maintained.