Some people believe that violence on television and in computer games has a damaging effect on society. Others deny that these have any significant influence on people's behaviour. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

These days, the proliferation of the media industry, including video games and television, and its violent-related content have sparked heated debates. While some critics argue that violent content has negative impacts on the community, others disagree with such a notion. This essay will examine both sides of the discussion and provide a conclusion. Advocates of this idea argue that exposure to violence through television and video games has the detrimental effect of desensitizing young people to violence. For example, they may adopt aggressive and violent behaviours from the shows they watch or the games they play and consider them a normal part of life. As a result, this can lead to an increase in the rate of domestic violence and violent crimes, such as armed robbery and homicide. Nevertheless, others argue that the impact media violence has had on people’s behaviour is insignificant. This is because shows and video games only serve as means of entertainment. Thus, it is common sense that game players and TV audiences are aware that any activity shown is for demonstration purposes only and would have minimal impact on how they behave. If scenes on television could have had such great impacts, other programs with educational values such as science, history, and astronomy must have had the same effect on society. In fact, the number of people who work as scientists, archaeologists, and astronomers is still relatively small compared to other professions. In my opinion, even though media consumers can distinguish between real and virtual at a certain level, excessive exposure to violent behaviours may affect their judgment and desensitize them to violence. This is because, in order to attract more viewers, show producers often make violence as realistic as possible and include as much of this element as possible. Consequently, people may be more likely to watch these shows and engage in these games instead of other types of available programs on TV, which increases their exposure to violence in the media. In conclusion, although violent scenes presented in the media are for entertainment purposes only and viewers are aware of this, I contend that its overabundant consumption may obscure the ability to distinguish and normalize violence for the young, which may have negative consequences for society.