Some people think students should study the science of food and how to prepare it. Others think that school time should be used in learning important subjects. Discuss both views and give your opinion? Give reasons for your answer, and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Food has been considered the fuel of human beings and, with water, it is the most important element to survive. Moreover, it is becoming a central topic of discussion in our society because nowadays the quality of food is decreased due to overfarming of animals and crops. Thus, it is agreed in the educational system that students should study the science of food and how to prepare it. This essay analyses the importance of a deep understanding of this topic in our society, which has to be considered at the same level as other subjects, and the approach of countries that already have given importance to this topic. We all know the sentence “ we are what we eat” and it is absolutely true. Hence, we should give more attention to this argument because it is strictly related to our well-being. Subjects such as mathematics and history are truly relevant as well as science of what we eat because if we know what and how to eat well the percentage of illnesses can decrease. Furthermore, the expectation of life can increase. For instance, if we think about well balanced diets such as the Japanese and the Italian one, studies show that following them can increase life and reduce probability of sickness. For this reason, learners should have a deep understanding of it as traditional subjects. Moreover, there are some countries such Italy and France that already give the right attention to the science of food. Indeed, during high school students can choose an academic pathway focused on this argument. In these types of schools the basic teaching areas are still taught but there are also lessons dedicated to how to prepare our “fuel”. In this way, students obtain the understanding of normal subjects, but also they are prepared to a professional pathway such as chef and nutritionist. On the other hand, educational environments, that only transmit theoretical knowledge, can’t prepare you for a working-life after high school. To conclude, we should teach the science of food as an important subject, because it is at the base of our life. A deep understanding of it can lead to a more well-being that could benefit the entire society.