It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessery to help them learn this distinction. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion? What sort of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behaviour to children?

Many people believe that punishment is an effective tool to teach children to differentiate between right and wrong from a young age. However, various others think that this method might have a bigger downside. Therefore, it’s of the upmost importance to discuss both sides. Firstly, many studies have found that kids that are subjected to punishments when doing something wrong, end up developing a higher sense of morality when growing up. Nevertheless, it’s also crucial to consider that overusing this tactic, might cause permanent psychological damage on infants. In particular, when said punishments also involve physical damage, a theory also backed by scientific evidence. Despite this, researchers have found, that children submitted to punishments, generate a subconscious sense of guilt and remorse, which ends up developing their set of ethic values in the future. Helping them understand the difference between good and bad deeds and actions. Yet, some consider this to be unethical, but the data does not lie, and the results provide promising results. To conclude, I believe that it’s paramount to consider the establishment of punishment at a young age, for children’s subconsciousness to develop the proper sense of moral, and a wide range of ethic values and good actions.