The growth of online shopping will one day lead to all shops in towns and cities closing. Do you agree or disagree?

In recent times we have had an increase in online shopping and certain individuals believe it will lead to the closure of shops in towns and cities. Although we have reasons to agree with this, I disagree with this notion and in this essay, I will state my reasons. Firstly, online shopping has been helpful to a lot of people especially the working class who have limited time to visit the market. With this, they are able to stay in the comfort of their homes or office and place an order for most items on a website. Secondly, for items manufactured in a location far from the buyer, they can be ordered online and shipped to them. For example, we have goods produced in China or in Vietnam and they are displayed on a particular website and then can be purchased and shipped to the buyer's location in Nigeria. On the other hand, we have a lot of fashion items that are better off bought in a physical store. Personally, I have purchased dresses and shoes online which were sent to me and were not my size. For example, I purchased a dress online in a large size but it was delivered as a medium-sized dress. As a result, I had to return the dress and incurred extra costs for shipping. Also, I bought a footwear on a website and it was delivered two sizes smaller than my size. This in turn can also lead to me wasting money as I end up giving the item out or I have to wait for so long to get it replaced. Another issue is with household utensils and perishable goods. Purchasing these items online is not favourable as they might get to the buyer damaged and in terrible conditions in the process of delivering the item. For example, an individual decides to order foodstuffs like tomatoes or glassware like mugs and plates online. In most cases, the tomatoes are delivered rotten, while the mugs and plates are delivered broken as a result of carelessness by the delivery man which can be avoided if an individual goes to personally purchase the items. In conclusion, although online shopping is a great medium for obtaining goods and services, it can never lead to the closure of all stores in towns and cities as individuals avoid getting items they cannot use as a result of the wrong size and will have the luxury to pick from various design and check different stores.