Some people feel that manufacturers and supermarkets have the responsibility to reduce the amount of packaging of goods. Others argue that consumers should avoid buying goods with a lot of packaging. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Task 2 There are diverse opinions on how producers and retailers of edibles should minimize how they package their products while others opined that it is individual’s responsibility to watch what they buy. People go into business to make profit and for manufacturers and shops selling for items to make enough money, they have to device methods that will make their products have a long shelf life. This they do by packaging the food item attractively after adding preservatives to it. For instance, snacks like biscuits are well packaged to attract customers. Moreover, producers have bills to pay such as taxes, staff salaries and other overhead costs. This can only be accomplished by designing the items well to capture the buyer. Furthermore, the products are prevented from getting spoiled quickly when they are well wrapped to maximize their quality and increase the gains. However, the onus lies with shoppers to ensure they don’t spend their hard earned money on poison packaged as edibles. For example, I bought a digestive biscuit sometimes ago, on opening the box, the whole biscuit had melted. I checked the expiry date It had been cleaned off, meaning it has expired but they just want to sell it to maximize their profits not bothered about the implications of an expired product on people’s health. In conclusion, individual should monitor what they buy and eat as the producers of food items are out to make profit not minding what they packed for human consumption which can be detrimental to health and pose a threat to the consumers and the general public at large.