Nowadays, not enough students choose science subjects in university in many countries. What are the reasons for this problem? What are the effects on society? As world is moving forward towards the revolution of science and technological advancements.

Emergence of new research and development is a clear evidence of importance of this matter. However in some societies student's lack of interest in science is a major concern. There are numerous reasons for this problem. One of the major problems that students don't intent to select the science subject for further studies is a level of difficulty. The study curriculum is designed in a tough way which compels students to go for either arts subjects or other information technology topics such as computer studies. In addition to that the outbreak of information technology is another reason, as society offers more jobs related to computer engineering. High scale salary is offered to IT related jobs and its a common perception for the demand of more computer related jobs. Another main reason is now youngsters shows a deep interest in entrepreneurship. Learners are more inclined towards selecting business modules at university level, specially the students with leadership mindset tends to avoid science subjects. Moreover this can have following major effects on society. With the rise of population and emergence of fatal diseases there is a constant need for more doctors and medical staff, shortage of these medical professional can create a chaotic situation in society. Shortage of science teachers is another problem which could occur, unavailability of science professionals can lead to less science institutions and universities. Progress towards new research and development in sectors such as astronomy and advanced medicine could be impacted, where as these areas are main focus of scientists in current era. There is a need for awareness programs at school level to create interest of science in new generation. Media can play vital role in this cause. Higher authorities of education need to check the complexity level of science studies at all levels. Finally there is a role of parents and teachers to convey the importance of science subject and its overall impact on career. Efforts also required on government level to create more jobs related to science.