Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that in many cities around the world there are constant traffic jams. How true do you think this statement is? What measures can governments take to discourage people from owning cars?

The population of car owners has increased speedily within thirty years and this has been a steady cause of traffic jams over many cities of the world. This is an occurrence happening all around us and can be amended if the government mandates the introduction of public transport into our cities and an increase of taxes paid on private cars. Generally, getting to a destination has now become a heavy task because of the longer period it would take, as every one is driving, therefore causing traffic jams and increased time is being taken to reach a destination. For instance, I had an urgent meeting scheduled for 7am last week Thursday and could not meet up despite leaving home at 5am for a journey that would have taken just thirty minutes. However, all of these can be solved with the introduction of public transport system in cities all around the world by the government, if they mandate the population to use public transport rather than their private cars, this will limit the number of private cars owned by individuals as they would become of no use and consequently reduce the volume of cars on the road making movement easier. It has become easy for many people to buy cars because the tax paid on it is quite negligible. Therefore, they can put a high charge per earning as a tax on every car owned by an individual. For example in Turkey, every car owner must pay one thousand dollars every three months as a tax on their cars, with this the amounts of cars used reduced from 50% to 35% of the population within a year. This is a very effective means of discouraging the population and also a solution to the constant traffic jam experienced all over the world. In conclusion, traffic jam has become a serious issue all over the world and the government can discourage the people by mandating public means of transportation and a tax charge on every private car.