Food travels thousands of miles before it reaches customer. Why is this? Is this a positive or negative trend.

According to Abraham Maslow's hierarchy of needs, foodstuffs and other consumables are regarded as basic human needs. Unfavourable climate condition and poor soil texture are among the numerous reasons why meals travel a distance before it reaches their users. Thus, the transport of foodstuffs to several distances so that the need of its users can be met is a positive movement. The principal reason why foodstuffs travel thousands of miles is because of the unfavourable climate condition of some parts of the world. For example, the international institute of Tropical Agriculture documented in its yearly journal that 50% of Asian communities experienced a climate that prohibits the growth of palm trees. Extract from this tree gives off red oil which is needed for a healthy diet. As a result of the harsh weather condition, red oil needs to be transported to Asian states from other regions. Despite the above-discussed cause, there are several reasons why transporting meals over thousands of kilometres is considered a beneficial movement. Firstly this direction serves as a source of income for cuisine producers and society at large. The reward for labour is wages, when foodstuffs is been transported to a distant regions, money is been paid by foodstuffs consumers to acquire the commodities. Another reason for this trend is that it helps to meet people's desires. Studies from the American Institute of Meals reveal in their biennial report says that 60% of meals that satisfy people's curiosity are been transported to the country from neighbouring societies. without snacks being transported to distant towns, meeting cuisine security will be a challenging problem for people. Also, access to quality and nutritious feed will be impaired if foodstuff does not travel thousands of miles before it reaches its consumers. Thus transporting meat to distant residence help curb this challenge. After analyzing how transporting foodstuff to distant places helps to serve as means of revenue for both individuals and society as well as also helping to quench foodstuff insecurity, it has proven that this brings with it more merits than demerits. It is hoped that the distant cuisine supply continue to grow in an unshrinkable manner.