Because of the global economy, many goods including what we use as daily basics produced by other countries have to be transported for a long distance. To what extent do the advantages overweight the disadvantages?

Our world has been revolutionized in many aspects by globalization. Today, we are not owned by Earth. We are connected by small global village. You can find things that you want in everywhere. Importing products has both good point and bad point. I think the merit outweigh the demerit. On the positive side, we are given many selection by transporting goods over a long distance. We have opportunity that we can sample variety of fruits and vegetables from all parts of the world. For instance, approximately ten years ago, on the market we barely saw kiwi fruit which is originally from New Zealand. But today it has every grocery store. Earlier, there were show brands like Bata and Carona, however now the bazaar is filled up with Reeboks, Nike, Adidas and other overseas brands. Furthermore, this field provides many people with employment. Small businesses have a oppotunity to expand globally and it rises the overall economy of the nation. Eventually, it assists in developing good relations between states, which helps in multinational collaboration and peace. If one another's economic success is connected by countries, then armed conflict would be less likely. However, transporting goods can have a negative effect on local culture. This can be seen in countries such as Japan. Pollution is a second major disadvantage. When merchandise are imported thousands of miles by sea, air and road, it increases pollution from exhaust fumes. In conclusion, transferring commodities has both advantages and disadvantages but the pros outweigh the cons.