You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: Few people devote time to hobbies nowadays. Say why you think this is the case and what effect this has on the individual and society in general. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words

Recent studies have shown that fewer people devote time to hobbies nowadays. In this article, I'm going to display my thoughts on why this is happenings and what effect it has on people and society. I believe adults are now working more hours a week than ever before, which includes weekends in some cases. This results in them having less time outside of their jobs, which they would spend time with their families/friends, and maintaining their homes. Technological advancements would also have a huge impact on people not taking part in hobbies now. Adults and children spend a large chunk of their time on social media, watching television and playing video games. If you were to look back 15-20 years ago, people would spend more time outdoors. Children would be playing outside most of the day with their friends, but the sad reality is that they now spend time sat indoors on mobile phones, iPads, and watching television. As a result of all of the above, the rate of obesity is rising more than ever before. With people becoming overweight, they are less likely to engage in sporting activities. The thought of going out to dinner, and scrolling on Instagram far outweights the idea of playing football with friends or joining a local netball team. To conclude; with people working more, spending time on social media along with watching television and playing video games, people are spending less time in the outdoors and joining sports clubs and other hobbies. As a result, the nation is becoming more obese overall which makes the situation worse.