Some people regard video games as harmless fun, or even as a useful educational tool. Others, however, believe that videos games are having an adverse effect on the people who play them. In your opinion, do the drawbacks of video games outweigh the benefits?

While some people think that playing video games is an inoffensive way to have fun or even a convenient tool for education, others truly believe that these games have a negative impact on their users. In my opinion, these computer games are unfavourable for those who use them. On the one hand, there are those who hold the opinion that video games are instructive, useful and harmful tools. The most compelling reason for believing this is that games of this type are helpful to expand education everywhere in the world and they appear like a new way to capture children’s interest. Also, they are conceived as a protective wall to defend children from the dangerous reality by wrapping them in these technological worlds. For example, a survey conducted by the University of Harvard in 2020 proved that the youngest who play computer games are more protected from street violence. On the other hand, other individuals believe that technological games have an adverse influence on the population. We can explain this by the fact that online games often carry violent or sexual content that totally confuses the young public. Moreover, the age restrictions are usually skippable and children are exposed to poor content at an age where they are very impressionable but this content is even shocking for adults. For instance, an article published by the Oxford Journal Gazette in 1999 demonstrated that 70% of people who play computer games will need psychological support in their lives. To conclude, there is a clear disagreement in society regarding the impact of these games. I strongly reckon that everyone should think about the information they receive from games and should try to reduce it.