Some people say that parents should encourage their children to take part in organised group activities in their free time. Others say that it is important for children to learn how to occupy themselves on their own. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

There are controversial ideas about how young people manage their free time. While letting them do whatever they like has some advantages, I believe that advising them to be engaged in an organization is more helpful. On the one hand, children managing their leisure hours by themselves have some pros. This helps them develop independence, self-control and time-management skills, and it is therefore beneficial when they have to live alone later on. By allowing them freely use their free hours, they may respect the time and proactively prioritize things that are more important to them. In addition, when kids do activities they find interesting or work on their own hobbies, they find their lives more enjoyable than being asked to follow the group. For example, some young people who like drawing can concentrate and hone their skills in their idle time, and they may become talented artists in the future. On the other hand, it is perhaps even more important for children to be a member of an organisation when they are free. Firstly, group work teaches them collaboration, leadership and communication skills which do wonders for their personal development in their adult lives. Secondly, social organizations such as charitable activities do meaningful jobs for society, and being a volunteer in those groups can build their kindness and compassion and they, therefore, probably become good members of society. Finally, these activities keep them occupied, and they are not prone to be involved in social evils like drug abuse or sticking to smartphones all day long. I remember attending the church choir when I was a schoolgirl, and this period taught me about the goodwill of contribution. In conclusion, I can understand why some parents give the right for kids to use their idle moments, but it seems to me that teamwork is more advantageous.