Some people feel that governments should take a large proportion of people’s salaries to pay for public services such as roads and schools. Others say that high taxes are a bad thing. Discuss both views and give your own opinion

Ever since people began living together in the form of countries, governments have been charging citizens a certain proportion of their earnings, and that is normally used for the nation’s own prosperity. Currently, there are some arguments over whether or not people should be obliged to pay a large percentage of their salaries for public services. I would argue that high taxes could be bad for society as they can give rise to a number of issues. Let us first consider the reasons why some people believe governments should impose high taxes. Authorities are usually responsible for many sectors needed to maintain the society ’s well-being, such as providing quality education, security and infrastructure. As all of these sectors stay running at a certain expense, some argue that cost should be covered by what society itself pays in the form of taxes. Another thing people might cite is making the elite class involved in the nation’s prosperity. If a huge percentage of their earnings is paid for building schools, establishing universities or creating other facilities, the total finances gathered from all the rich in the country will amount to millions, which could definitely bring about major developments in society. Nevertheless, we should never overlook the issues which may be driven by introducing a high-tax policy. Citizens in the first place strive and make money for their own welfare, which means depriving them from a massive part of what they earn leads them to express their protest against the state. This has already been reported in a number of cities where a series of noisy demonstrations were held by the citizens furious about the unfairly high tax rates. Besides, unfairly heightened tax proportions may discourage foreign entrepreneurs from investing into the country -- a scenario which is rather unpleasant for any nation trying to make progress in its business sector. These could be convincing enough that imposing high taxes is very detrimental for society overall. In conclusion, although making people pay a big part of their income for particular services may seem like a good idea at first glance, we should never let this happen by risking the nation’s peace and business prosperity. I believe authorities can keep countries flourishing through other ways, like using the nation’s existing natural resources more wisely.