Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities in the world are now one big traffic jam. How true do you think this statement is? What measures can governments take to discourage people from using cars?

In recent times, science and technology have advanced a lot. With the advancement in technology, our lives have become much easier than what it was in the past. Over the past thirty years, the ownership of cars has rapidly increased. This over possession of cars has consequently increased the traffic on roads. In my opinion, this statement is true. I strongly think that the government should take the necessary steps to regulate the traffic on roads. With time, there is a huge increase in car ownership. Most people, especially youths, are very obsessed with cars. Most people own a car. They have several reasons which are personal and professional as well. The first reason is that with the ownership of cars, they have the authority to travel anywhere, anytime, they want. Taking public transport also leads to much more time than it is required to reach a certain destination. Secondly, the government has made car loans from banks very easy to access. It is very convenient and hassle-free these days to buy a car. As the availability and affordability of the car are easy, hence people tend to use them even for a short journey. This has led to the congestion of traffic. Also, another reason for traffic is the humongous number of vehicles on the road. Apart from private cars, there are public transport and carrier vehicles although it creates a huge traffic congestion. Also, the inadequate road infrastructure is a major reason for this congestion. I believe that the government should take necessary measures, and encourage local citizens to use public transport. Also, to lessen the use of private cars, governments should impose taxes, so that it can lessen the use of private cars. To conclude, I would like to say that I strongly believe due to this ownership of cars, traffic congestion has increased in recent years. However, I also think that the government should introduce cheaper public transport with better facilities to curb traffic congestion.