Some people feel that manufacturers and supermarkets have the responsibility to reduce the amount of packaging of goods. Others argue that customers should avoid buying goods with a lot of packaging. Discuss both views and give your opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words.

Some people state that supply side such as manufactures and supermarkets must be responsible for eliminating the packaging of products, while others insist that demand side should choose goods with less packaging. In my opinion, both views are vital for reducing the amount of waste on the earth, suppliers also should have the responsibility to change consumers’ mind. To begin with, as the resource of the planet are limited, suppliers must reconsider their operation every single part of the supply chain to maintain the sustainability of their business and avoid bad reputation. First, people today cannot live without Amazon, which uses a huge amount of plastic package and cardboard in its delivery operation. However, if the resources were depleted and packaging became unusable, they would not provide their main service and strength, quick delivery. In addition, Amazon’s delivery of goods in packaging larger than goods themselves is often criticized by not only consumers but also suppliers, contractors and investors in modern society in which companies are required to circulate resources as well as possible. Thus, such operation can damage a company’s reputation of the company, followed by the loss of company’s reliability or customers. Second, it is also integral that customers must have a responsibility of their consuming behavior to pick more environmentally friendly goods since packaging waste is generated from almost all products, including food, beverage and health care, etc. But it is partly induced by supply side offering ecological items and making customers aware of the importance of reducing packaging. For instance, one of the UK cosmetic brands LUSH delivers its goods without any plastic package to buyers, which had an occasion for existing customers to find out eco-consuming behavior. Moreover, this brand was also able to obtain new customers who are keenly interested in environmental protection. Therefore, changing attitude of demand side can also be a new opportunity. In conclusion, efforts to reduce the amount of packaging are required to both supplier and consumers, but the responsibility for triggering such efforts lies with supply side more than customers.