Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and interests, and whether they are married or single. Some people say that this information may be relevant and useful. Others disagree. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Today, some companies like to ask applicants for personal information because they think that it is useful to find out a potential employee and others think this is irrelevant. There are two views that I will discuss below. With personal information given, employers can see who is suitable for their hiring position. For example, my friend’s company - TTM Co,.ltd is looking for a marketing salesman to expand to some countries. So this has some requirements for applicants as a dynamic and single person who can go on business flexibly. Of course, my friend needs to ask candidates for some information. Otherwise, some people think that personal information is more irrelevant and unimportant than their performance through problem-solving skills and gained experiences before. For example, Summerset Hotel branches hire their employees with good-looking and spoken language nevertheless they need these to have problem-solving skills and customer service skills. In conclusion, whether asking for personal information is helpful or not depends on the employer’s point and job demand. Sometimes, the candidates will tell the employers if they think this is necessary. So to my opinion, the applicants will show their best in performance and solving skills, another advantaged skill to get their lovely job.