Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmes (for example working for a charity, improving the neighbourhood or teaching sports to younger children). To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, there is an opinion that unpaid public works should be a necessary part of high school programs. Personally, I tend to think that compulsory community services will have an incomparable effect on building students' behavior towards the environment and increasing their sense of responsibility. Firstly, it is well known that imperceptible things such as working at charities, improving the neighborhood, and teaching sports to younger children are also significant for society. What I mean here is that a human's perception of these minor phenomena shows his sense of duty. One of the main reasons behind this is how people relate to valuable items for them. For example, American scientists have found that in cities where people care about their neighbors and their hometown, acts of vandalism are much less common. Thus, the government not only protects the environment but also nurtures society's ethics. On the other hand, it can be argued that it is a good opportunity for students to reinforce their portfolio with soft skills. That is to say, the availability of soft skills such as participation in charities enhances their chances for education abroad. For example, to enroll in prestigious universities in the USA or UK, applicants should have a strong portfolio with hard and soft skills. Therefore, including unpaid community works is important for high schoolers. In conclusion, considering everything mentioned, we can say that people tend to believe that mandatory social work services ought to be included in high school educational programs.