⁷Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience

There are opposing views about whether students are entitled to choose their university major. While some people assert that students should be free to choose their major at the university, others argue university students should be obliged to study courses related to science and technology. Both groups present compelling reasons for justifying their assertion, which will be elaborated on in this essay. On the one hand, some people believe that it is against the freedom to force students to learn specific subjects. In other words, if authorities deprived students of their freedom of choice, they participate in courses for which they neither have the talent nor enthusiasm. As a direct result, the students will not show admirable performance in these majors. Take a student who is passionate about art for example; being forced to study engineering, he is more probable to withdraw before completing the course. On the other hand, others think that the government should spend the budget on the nation's priority. Since they believe that art and social science is not the priority of developing countries, they advocate the government allocate the budget to teaching science-related courses to students. A good illustration of this is African countries which do not have access to healthy water and electricity; in these countries, it is recommended to force students to study technology in universities so that they can be helpful to their society. To sum up, both groups bring rational justifications to support their idea. While many individuals believe that students are entitled to choose which subject is suitable for them to study, others believe that due to the scarcity of government budgets in some parts of the world, it is better to force university students to learn practical subjects like science and technology.