Young people do not spend their holidays and weekends doing outdoor activities like hiking and climbing in the natural environment. Why is that? How do we encourage them to go out?

Teenagers tend to spend their days off indoors, which is a concerning phenomenon, and some countermeasures are worth providing. It is obvious that as society is being changed rapidly, a cascade of impact has been found on those teenagers' living styles. On the one hand, due to the vast application of electronic devices and social media platforms, those young people build their social web online, and develop such friendships via phones or computers, thus making outdoor activities no longer necessary for maintaining and strengthening those relationships and social connections. On the other hand, teens are facing more pressure due to the poor economic situation and booming population, thus they have to work harder for their future, and spend most of their spare days indoors instead of moving to the natural environment, as it is time-consuming. As a result, their physical conditions are not as good as people in the same age decades ago, making them even more difficult to have fun outdoors. Since the problem is becoming an elephant in the room, and it occurs in most of those teens, it is worthwhile to take countermeasures and bite the bullet. Some possible solutions can be applied in changing the policy and developing new apps that encourage them to move out, complete tasks and challenge their friends. The policy change reduces the peer pressure and the heavy burden those teens are facing, and they can spend more time on those time-consuming outdoor activities. As for those new apps, former examples such as pokemon go have shown great success in increasing teens ' outdoor times, and there are no technical problems in-situ adding such functions in apps. In conclusion, teens tend to spend their days off indoors, mainly due to the lack of time and lack of motivation, and this phenomenon needs united efforts from both app developers and the government.