Some people think children's spending time on TV, video and PC games is good, while others think it is bad. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Some people suggest that it is a good trend that children spend more time watching television, videos or playing computer games, while others have the opposite view. I think there are some pros and cons to that issue. In this essay, I will overview both and give my opinion in conclusion. To begin with, two or three decades before children spent most of their free time playing outside, meeting friends and reading, nowadays a major part of their leisure time they spent using gadgets. Real friends are replaced with virtual friends from online games. They choose to watch TV shows or videos on YouTube, rather than have a walk or read a book. On the one hand, it is not a bad change. Firstly,it is easier to find new friends from all over the world by playing online games and improving foreign language skills. Nowadays it is difficult to make new friends in real life, modern technologies can help to deal with that issue. Secondly, there are some useful videos and TV shows, which will help with the educational process. For instance, some historical or scientific films or recordings. On the other side, they are some disadvantages. The main one is health problems, which will be caused by using computers frequently. For example, problems with the eyes or spine. Also, after some time children will have problems with socialisation and communication in real life. Virtual life is more easier and comfortable, without problems and difficulties. To conclude, my opinion is that they are some good sides to using modern technologies by children. New contacts all over the world, language improvement, educational videos or films. But parents and teachers should think about the negative consequences too and take some measures to prevent them.