Over the past fifty years, international sports events such as Olympic games and world cup competition have played an increasing important role in our society. However, many people think such events are an enormous waste of money, time and effort. Do you agree?

Sports is one of the most famous segments of all the societies in the world. Therefore, many countries exhaust heaps of funding to organise such events like World Cup and Olympic Games, unfortunately, according to some individuals, it is considered a waste of finances, time and energy spent. I completely agree that in order to conduct the tournament, countries usually develop unnecessary infrastructure and public money is wasted to execute the athletic activities. One of the main reasons I support the notion is that the authorities build stadiums and other places to conduct the games which are of no use afterwards. For example, In China, the shortage of land is already a big problem whereas the government constructed three enormous arenas while planning for the world meet. Certainly, it is a completely not required infrastructure which has led the citizens to sacrifice. As a result, the property built mainly to serve the purpose of planning activities is not only a waste of funds but also limits resources. Another reason, the precious public money used to organise these meetings which could have helped many families is wasted. Uncertainly, the government spend immense of finances on athletics for no reason. Taking this into account, In Japan, during the 2013 Olympics, the nation estimated the expenses at 1 billion, however, the expenditure was 1.5 billion later. Consequently, these finances would have been used for the betterment of the public instead of wasting it on the contest. The question is why would the country conduct the activities? Ideally, just to raise the name and fame on a global scale. In conclusion, even though sports events are getting popular, they should not be conducted by sacrificing money, effort and time specifically which truly belongs to the locals.