When choosing a job, the salary is the most important consideration. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Choosing a job is crucial for both fresh graduates and experienced workers, and there are several considerations in their endeavour to get the best employer, including the salary they will earn. However, in my opinion, there are other aspects apart from salaries they have to consider when selecting an employer before taking opportunities offered by companies. In this essay, I will outline various considerations when choosing a job regarding these issues. It is true that most people still consider wages as the most important factor when deciding to accept a job, because the higher money transferred to their account, the more they will entice by the corporation’s offering to fulfil their daily needs, such as food, tuition fees for children, rent house payment, and vacations. Research conducted by The University of Indonesia in 2018 shows that more than 80% of respondents say that salary still becomes the most important factor they consider when choosing a job. However, there are other aspects to be considered when selecting employers, such as an opportunity to develop careers because, for some people, the highest achievement is when they attain a particular position, Board of Directors. On the other hand, work-life balance offered by corporations becomes another fundamental consideration, because it will enable them to enjoy leisure time, for example taking physical exercise after working hours, joint social activities, and taking courses to enhance their skill and expertise. Besides, working according to passion will give job satisfaction to the employees which can lead to significant improvement in productivity. Based on a survey conducted by Kompas three years ago, the state's enterprises become the most employer giving work-life balance and job satisfaction and these corporations still become the most employers sought in the market job. In conclusion, I agree that money is still become the most important factor before deciding to choose a job, but there are other factors to be considered to improve employers' productivity and job satisfaction, namely career opportunities, passion, and work-life balance.