In some countries it is now illegal to reject someone applying for a job because of his or her age. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

In few nations, while applying for a job, age is not considered a required factor in the eligibility criteria of hiring companies and is not legal to set the same. Although there are some positive sides to this trend, I would argue that having no age limit in the selection process can have more cons instead of having pros. To commence with, having no age restrictions to get any job increases the competition between the applicants. If people of every age will be eligible to get work in a particular field, it would become more competitive to get the placement in the same. For instance, according to the National Survey of India, which revealed that there were 8 lakh people who submitted the application forms for just 5 job posts in IT (information technology) as there was no age restriction in the eligibility criteria. Hence, it led to a huge competition between individuals to get the same job. Furthermore, making an eligibility criteria easiest for any placement can result in wastage of time for the masses. Since, they will focus to get same work which results in the great competition while ignoring other great companies offering with good options for work, consequently wasting the crucial time. As has been shown by the research conducted in the USA (United States of America) that a job fair that was held in 2022, there were 5 great companies who were hiring individuals for the placement, one of them was hiring people of all ages while other’s criteria for the selection was little difficult, resulting that most of individuals wasted their time to get employed with the first company and hence, lost their chance to get employment due to high competition. In conclusion, I believe that there are more drawbacks to this particular trend resulting in a huge competition between humans to get certain jobs and wasting their time to get the same.