Nowadays, not enough students choose science subjects at university in many countries. Why is this? What effects does this have on society?

Never before has a demand for technical professions been so high. However, in a number of countries, students prefer to learn humanitarian over scientific subjects. This essay discusses the root cause behind it, which is a poor secondary education and the lack of opportunities. Secondly, the negative impact on economy that results from this issue is analyzed. To begin with, the primary cause of low interest in technical subjects among students is limited secondary education and opportunities. Mastering science subjects requires a solid foundation in mathematics, which is often poorly taught in schools. Moreover, to develop an interest in technical subjects a special environment is required. For example, in France schools, students are encouraged to participate in olympiads and other extra-curricular activities such as conducting physical experiments and joining scientific clubs. As a result, these students are engaged in the science and choose technical degrees at universities. However, if a student have not had such experience, then it would be hard to them to successfully pass science subjects at university. For this reason, the inadequate level of education and unavailability of opportunities are the key obstacles in pursuing a technical degree. Consequently, an insufficient interest in technical subjects has a negative impact on the economy of a country. The technological progress has never been so rapid in history. New inventions are being incorporated in our lives on a daily basis. Therefore, for a country to prosper, numerous technical specialists are required to facilitate the development of technology. For instance, the US has the highest number of students majoring in technical subjects and its economy is greatly expanding. For this reason, to maintain a stable economical progress, a great deal of students must take up technical courses. In conclusion, the lack of possibilities and education prevents students to take scientific subjects at university, putting a strain on a country’s economy.