Nowadays children watch lot of TV and play video games. However, some people think that these activities are not good for a child’s mental health. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Recently,more and more children have excessively watched TV and played video games as a kind of entertainment. It's no doubt that using advanced technology brings us tremendous advantages. However, this trend causes several drawbacks and mental problems. In the following, I will deliberate more examples of the negative side of watching TV and playing video games heavily. First, one of the disadvantages of playing video games too much is can lead to mental issues such as addiction. Children may develop a preference for using games rather than engaging in social activities such as meeting peers, and spending good time with their families. Hence, this behaviour will deteriorate their communication as well as social skills. Many studies showed that children who spend more time on TV actually are more predisposed to be more isolated. To tackle this issue, parents should put strict rules to regulate the usage of TV during the week. I think parents should make sure that children make a good balance between online actions and offline actions. Secondly, the other disadvantage of using offline exercises more than physical exercises is would increase the percentage of overweight children. Some studies present that children who spend much time on their phones are more likely to be overweight. In fact, doing sports exercises has a great influence on the children's health. Doing sports activities not only consumes more calories but also reduces stress furthermore learn children to be more committed and patient. To sum up, there are several health drawbacks of playing video games such as addiction and being overweight. Hence, I totally agree that this would cause several problems.