Some university students want to learn about other subjects in addition to their main subjects. Others believe it is more important to give all their time and attention to studying for a qualification. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It to commonly argued among high school learners whether it is necessary to incorporate other courses into their syllabus. While some individuals believe it is essential, others say it is better to focus on their field of study. In my view, it is paramount to have a taste of other disciplines. on the one hand, quite a number of students who suggest it is good to diversify, thought of that for likely two reasons: firstly, it seems to them that other courses may be useful to them in the future. For instance, the fact that they studied zoology in the university does not mean they are going to secure jobs in the park looking after wildlife because it has been observed that most of them end up in the classroom teaching biology, especially in Nigeria. Secondly, it has been noticed that university graduates are perceived as the most knowledgeable people by illiterates and they are tested across different fields outside their area of specialization. Hence, it is crucial to know about other subjects. on the other hand, some people who say they do not want to be the jack of all trades, that is better to concentrate on their field of choice, also suggest their own reasons. They think it will make them less efficient because their school curriculum is already filled up with their activities. To exemplify, a college student who is preparing for an exam would not want to borrow courses from other departments, as it may reduce his level of concentration which may eventually lead to failure. Again, tutees who are studying courses like medicine and law would find it difficult to learn from other faculty because their aim is to reach the peak of their careers like consultant and barrier respectively. Therefore, it may not be possible if they go outside the box. In conclusion, it appears to me that it is important to learn from other fields because the future is not promising for graduates, and chasing career goals is not what they need.