One problem faced by almost every large city is traffic congestion. What do you think the causes are? What solutions can you suggest?

The widespread problem of traffic congestion has long been a major topic of concern in society. This essay will discuss what are the causes and suggest ways in which this problem can be reduced. The first potential cause is overpopulation. In other words, the number of people is increasing day by day. Consequently, the percentage of individuals who use private transport such as car is raising, which can be defined as the main reason of traffic jam. To resolve this obstacle the government has to implement some projects like “One family – one car.”. For instance, nowadays not only parents drive a car but also their offspring, for one family it would be better to have only one transport, other members can use public transport. Thus, city dwellers also may play their part to mitigate traffic congestion. Another possible reason is the inconvenience of the public transport like lack of air conditioning or enough sits. Especially after work people get exhausted and in order to avoid these things individuals tend to purchase own car. Yet, rarely do people realize that such kind of approach costs their time when they get stuck in a traffic jam. Nevertheless, what the state can do to solve this trend is to arouse people ’s interest in using the social transport by providing more comfortable and clean buses with many sits. Nonetheless, I am still convinced that it is the authorities’ prime responsibility to make the environment more comfortable for people who do not use car or can not afford it.