Many university students want to learn about different subjects in addition to their main subjects. Others feel it is more important to give all their time and attention to studying for their qualification. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Some students intend to get knowledge about other subjects besides their major ones whereas others claim that being professional only in the field of their study is more essential. While being involved in different aspects of sciences might be very useful to some extent, I hold the view that the benefits of putting all attention and effort into main subjects overweight. On the one hand, being interested in various subjects lead students to search for new information on a regular base which keeps them updated. Therefore, learning different subjects might have a positive effect on studying their main courses. For instance, engineering students have lots of technical subjects to learn and plenty of calculations they do during their studying period. Adding some humanitarian subjects such as, any foreign language or subjects which are related to psychology might help them to clear their mind and improve their concentration on the most substantial tasks later. On the other hand, adding extra courses which are not necessary for their future career can be distracting to some extent. University students may experience confusion about the priority of subjects. To support this idea, the majority of students struggle to start their careers because of the lack of background knowledge studied at university. Instead of focusing on their main subjects and enrolling on some extra courses related to their major field, they spend this time getting information that they will not remember after a while. Thus, concentrating on their priorities by acknowledging one field might be more beneficial rather than spending time on other subjects. In conclusion, despite the fact that some students have a positive approach to getting knowledge in different subjects, I strongly believe that being sufficiently successful in a major field is the top of the priorities.