Rising university fees and scarce employment prospects for graduates have led some people to say that universities should not teach arts subjects, like philosophy and history, and only offer practical degree courses that maximise chances of employment. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give a reason for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Some people believe that due to an increasing in university tuition and decreasing in job opportunities for graduated students, it would be better for universities to remove art courses such as philosophy, and history from the curriculum. Then, the university should instead focus solely on the degree courses in which students will obtain high opportunities to be employed. I totally disagree with this statement, and my arguments will be elaborated in this essay. To begin with, it might be reasonable for some to believe that students should concentrate on the subjects which directly benefit from the job positions, for instance finance, marketing, and supply chain, as students will be able to adapt easily when they start working in a company. This is probably because many jobs these days are solely opened for students who study in relevant majors, and companies also have high expectations from graduated students. For example, when I applied for a business analyst position, I found that most companies only considered applicants who graduated in business-related fields. Moreover, after being employed they believe that I am able to work smoothly without requiring training by utilising my knowledge from previous subjects that I have studied. However, I personally believe that each student has distinguished talents, which means that not all students will be capable to learn the aforementioned courses. While some are good at arithmetic, others expert in art or music. As a result, there are numerous jobs in the real world, where artists and musicians also have a place. Assuming that only business courses are taught in the universities, art, music, and many other fields will be vanished from our nation’s cultures and festivals because no one excels in these areas anymore. In conclusion, although the degree courses are essential for students for employment, I am of the opinion that removing art subjects is not a valid method for solving this problem.