Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and interests, and whether they are married or single. some people say that this information may be relevant and useful. Others disagree. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is a well-known fact that people’s pastimes and enthusiasms are directly related to their characteristics. Therefore, some employers assume that knowing their applicants’ interests or marital status could assist them to hire wisely. However, this belief is not straightforward and several disagreements have been made against this idea, which will be mentioned here. On the one hand, those who support the idea of asking employees for their individual information point out that a company could benefit from this gesture by getting to know their staff well. By this, we mean that to pursue an organization’s goals, it is vital to consider that some positions are exclusive to candidates with specific personality features. For example, working in a kindergarten requires a major attraction to toddlers and being a library consultant demands an excessive interest in reading numerous books in different fields. Secondly, certain job conditions would affect marital life, meaning that should applicants dedicate particular hours to work, they would encounter difficulties in having a work/life balance and spending qualified time with their spouses. For instance, jobs that require nightshifts or travelling frequently would entitle employers to get informed about the spousal relationship. By contrast, the opponents of revealing personal information cite the legal rights of conserving specific data that could be sometimes unpleasant to explain. Moreover, asking about hobbies and interests could exacerbate the lack of confidence, for instance, in those who feel unsecured about their life experiences. The second much-discussed reason for not exposing irrelevant data is related to relation boundaries between a boss and an employee, meaning that sharing personal facts appear to be regarded as misbehaviour such as a violation of privacy or unwanted intimacy. To conclude, although putting extra information in the curriculum vitae could lead to an efficient choice of personnel, the exposure of unwilling characteristic details not only does it put a strain on the interviewee, but it conflicts with their legal rights as well.