Some people regard video games are harmless fun, or even as a useful educational tool. Others believe that video games are having an adverse effects on the people who play them. Do the drawbacks outweigh the benefits?

In the modern world virtual reality is ubiquitous and plays a more prominent part of our mundane life virtually every day and video games do not represent an exception. However, while there are obviously positive outcomes of being firmly integrated into computer gaming, some people strongly believe that constant immersion in the world of virtual entertainment may have detrimental effects on gamers. Personally, I reckon that the advantages of playing video games tip the balance when compared with the disadvantages. Firstly, it is a scientific fact that computer games may enhance one's critical thinking, dexterity and accelerate reaction speed. Even though there is research that claims gaming deteriorates vision abilities, moderate portions of playing games daily ameliorate one's mental capacities. For example, nowadays some large companies even resort to gaming experience as a part of their hiring process. McKinsey's digital assessment exemplifies the aforementioned; throughout the process of this game, AI tests candidates' problem-solving and analytical capabilities. Secondly, the social component of gaming should not be neglected. Rarely does anyone meet or chat with each other offline these days, practically everything went online whether it was a business conference or a regular reunion with friends. The same applies to video games, where people create gigantic communities of gaming kinship and where everyone feels equal and can confide in other players. Moreover, some perceive this environment as an outlet for their emotions and feelings, whereas others may establish even more close-knit relationships. For instance, some time ago my friends played the same game and there they got acquainted, which led to closer interaction, a date in real life and the creation of their family a couple of years later. In conclusion, a closer look allows us to distinguish more positive sides than negative of video games and virtual reality. The ability to positively affect a person's mental state and the opportunity to thrive and revel in a safe environment characterised by the likelihood of interests all together prove that gaming should be treated with less fear and scepticism.