1.University and colleges are now offering qualifications through distance learning from the Internet rather than teachers in the classroom. Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

Despite all the changes that are happening in the world, education remains one of the most hotly discussed issues, especially with the advent of online education. Moreover, it has even been argued that human teachers could actually be replaced by distance learning over the Internet. Personally, I think human teachers are irreplaceable. First, real teachers are more flexible in teaching than virtual teachers. After all, computers can only work according to the programs set by people. That is to say, computers can only undertake repetitive tasks. Instead, teachers can adjust lesson plans to cater for the needs of different students. The second advantage of real teachers is that through face-to-face communication, the emotional communication between teachers and students can be more effectively realized. In fact, apart from imparting knowledge, teachers are also responsible for encouraging and inspiring students by sharing their own life experiences. Therefore, teachers can not only play the role of a knowledge base, but also become role models to guide students throughout their lives. Admittedly, distance learning from the internet is also an option, although it has obvious drawbacks. One of the benefits may be the vast amount of information available online and easier access. After all, learning by computer is less time and cost-effective than learning in a physical classroom because commuting can be avoided. All in all, despite the sheer volume of information and the apparent ease of access to distance learning, I still believe in the benefits of having a live teacher. This is mostly because of the flexibility and emotional exchange that comes with talking face-to-face.