Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic, and pollution problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree? What other measures do you think might be effective?

It is true that traffic congestion and pollution have become a serious problem in metropolises and cities. To solve this problem, an increase in the petrol’s price is suggested. I think this solution is not the best way, and in my opinion there are other solutions that are more effective than increasing petrol’s price. To begin with, rising fuel prices might lead to some negative effects. Firstly, generally people are willing to buy a car for themselves. And there is a positive correlation between fuel price and car price. So, if the fuel price goes up, car prices increase, too. Therefore, the selling of cars will decrease. Moreover, because this industry is directly related to the economy, manufacturers have laid off some of their employers. And recession and negative effects would happen in society. Secondly, by increasing petrol’s price the cost of the foods and ingredients will rise. Because for transferring goods from the countryside to the cities it needs trucks, and trucks consume fuel. Therefore, increasing the price of petrol has irreversible consequences to the economy and society. Although increasing the price of petrol is one way to tackle the issue, there are other measures that can be more effective. One solution is that the city's infrastructure is developed by the government, specifically in public transportation. For example, expand routes and renew the vehicles, and encourage people to use them instead of their private cars. The other way is to apply tax on individuals who use their own cars in some polluted areas. For instance, in Tehran, province, the capital of Iran, the government has imposed a fee on drivers who use their vehicle during rush hours to reduce pollution, and in some specific areas from 6:30 am to 6:00 pm if people want to go there, they have to pay. In conclusion, traffic congestion and pollution have become a serious challenge. Although increasing petrol prices might be a way to solve this problem, I think it has some disadvantages. There are other effective ways like developing public transportation, and applying tax to tackle these problems.