Employers should focus on personal qualities instead of qualifications and experience when choosing someone for a job. To what extent do you agree?

There is no doubt that, to succeed in their career, one should work on elevating their behavioural ability apart from educational and other accomplishments. For the most part, I agree with the above statement because, without soft skills, it would become difficult for an employee to survive long-term in a company. In my essay below, I will discuss the reason behind their importance and their uses. I agree with the above statement because hard skills are something that can be taught to everyone in their own phase, and those only serve as a starting point to enter a domain. For instance, in IT industries, with stringent training courses, some employers can train and successfully hire many new graduates from college who studied slightly different courses in their degree. This is due to the reason that those job-seekers can learn and adapt to new methods more quickly than most experienced applicants. This proves that employers should focus more on hiring candidates with strong behavioural abilities. Furthermore, for some senior positions, most companies prefer relevant experience. However, they can still settle for applicants with slightly relevant experience and strong leadership expertise. Because of their leadership skills and perseverance, these candidates can perform well, too. Likewise, some candidates with sufficient qualifications may also fail to succeed to a larger degree sometimes, due to various personal limitations such as slow learning abilities, poor decision-making etc. Hence, I believe behavioural smartness plays a vital role in an employee's career. In conclusion, in various situations, although qualification and experience seem to be an added advantage, only behavioural and leadership expertise make a candidate incompetent. Hence, according to me, employers should focus their search majorly on personal abilities.