Some employers believe that job applicants’ social skills are more important than their academic qualifications. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, it seems more important for employers to consider the job applicant’s social skills before their academic records. In my opinion, I strongly disagree as not always good social skills are enough to complete a task satisfactorily, as well as having academic qualifications are not a guarantee of dealing with the job appropriately. I believe that the combination of both aspects should be the best criterion in order to select an employee. To begin with, employing people based only on their social skills would probably be insufficient as they may not be well prepared to do the job. For instance, it has been claimed that, far away from being overrated, university studies are necessary for society as many people are being formed in short Online courses trying to take faster paths to get a job while the truth is that 90% of them fail getting hired as they profiles are not enough to deal with all the situations of qualified jobs. This means that it is absolutely necessary having reliable qualifications that allow one to work professionally. However, I am not saying that only academic records are enough, we all definitely need to have acceptable social skills if we really want to succeed in a working environment. On the other hand, considering the other extreme of only taking into account their academic records it also does not guarantee successful employment. For example, it has been proved that numerous business sales with competent personnel that were not kind enough at the time of dealing with people, were losing sales dropping their numbers considerably. This explains why it is important to understand that qualifications and social skills contribute equally to the performance of a better job. In conclusion, employers who think that it is preferable having great social skills than to have professional skills are wrong, as considering one on top of the other, no matter which one is, would decline in failure as both are truly important. In my opinion, I strongly believe that employers should consider both aspects in order to choose the best candidates, which the criteria would be performing a good job while using their social abilities to interact with other employees and clients, working naturally as a part of a team.