It is often said that the subjects taught in schools are too academic in orientation and that it would be more useful for children to learn about practical matters such as home management, work and interpersonal skills.  To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some believe that the education in schools are too academic in orientation and suggest a more practical approach. In my opinion, learning practical skills is more important because this will prepare the students for adulthood, in both private and professional life. Moreover, subjects taught by in practice result in faster and longer-lasting learning. School is the ground where children learn how to do things when they become adults. Therefore, training communication and workshops in organising ones everyday tasks, will enable greater social building and work possibilities. For example, a student which uses most of his or her time on reading and memorizing, would lack the proper language and tools to function in some social settings. Likewise, spesific task in managing time at school eases balancing work and family tasks. Humans have greater ability to learn by acting on what they have learnt, rather than just read or listen to a lecture. Research have shown that students learn faster when they can see, hear or participate in the learning process by them selfs. In contrast to academic learning, a skill which is learn in practice will not be forgotten easily. In conclusion, schools should focus more on practical matters in my opinion. Because, if students train practical skills from childhood they would have a better social life, both in private and in public life. I addition, new studies proves that hands-on approach of learning is superior to an academic orientation.