International tourism has brought enormous benefit to many places. At the same time, there is concern about its impact on local inhabitants and the environment. Do the disadvantages of international tourism outweigh the advantages

International tourism is one of the pillars that hold one’s country's economic health. Most countries rely on its historical monuments and buildings and natural resources such as seas, mountains and rainforest to promote tourism in their country. Although several drawbacks may disturb the environment around the historical areas, I believe the benefits from tourism outweigh the disadvantages. Countries require fame to be independent. What better way to gain popularity than tourism? Once fame is acquired, power and money will follow. Work opportunities will increase and businesses in that particular area will rise significantly. When that happens, the people will have a more prosperous life which leads to a financially stable country. Some groups may argue that using a natural habitat or a historical area for fame and money is unethical. Others may believe that the method is simply wrong. However, I believe sometimes we need to sacrifice something to gain more. In addition to that we can use the money and power we receive from the tourism industry to fix the damages from the tourism itself. Tourism may also not damage the environment severely. In Komodo island for instance, communities have made the area a site of tourism and the habitat of the reptile is not much affected. I believe that with the right rules and regulations we can profit from these tourism sites without disturbing or destroying the ecosystem. In conclusion, international tourism, though sometimes disturbing an ecosystem, must continue to run. Not only are there more advantages than disadvantages, sometimes there might be no drawbacks at all. With the right rules we can gain much from tourism without disturbing the community and the local inhabitants and environment.