Traffic jams are a problem in many towns and cities today. Some people say that the solution is to build wider roads. Do you agree or disagree?

Heavy traffic is a major issue in numerous downtown locations. In this essay, I will explore why constructing larger motorways will not solve this issue and I will provide a better solution to reduce cars on the road. Although building wider roads will initially increase capacity, it will eventually be saturated by people taking other modes of transportation. This is because commuters who usually take public transportion will now start to use the new street, as it will be faster than taking the train. Thus, it will not have an impact in reducing commuting time by allowing more vehicles to drive on the street. Furthermore, the cost of building a spacious road is too high and the budget can be utilised in a better fashion. For example, if the flow of traffic increased ten fold then the maintance cost will also rise, as there will be more wear and tear on the asphalt. Therefore, the money can be used to make a better train network which can aid in transporting a lot more passengers per day because the carrying capacity of trains is higher than vehicles. Hence, improving existing public transportation will facilitate a larger portion of the population to travel to popular destinations. In conclusion, I believe that building wider motorways will not decrease the higher number of drivers on the road because it will allow people who take more effective mode of travel, to start using the wider street. Moreover, resources can be used more effectively to reduce traffic by improving train and bus lines which can carry a lot more passengers.