In many workplaces, online communication is now more common than face-to-face meetings. Do the advantages of this trend outweigh the disadvantages?

In this modern era, with the advancement in technology, majority of the companies have now switched to using these technical facilities instead of meeting in physical form. This essay will explain that the advantages of this trend are equal to the disadvantages. On one hand, through online communication, employees can easily connect with each other. E-mails, text messages, phone calls and video calls have helped the managers of various organisations to get in touch directly with their subordinates instead of passing on the messages from one person to another and thus avoiding grapevine communication. For example, a supervisor can directly send an e-mail or a text to a particular worker in the company if they are either on leave or are living in another city. On the other hand however, it is hard to detect the tone of the message in online texts. There is always a high risk of miscommunication through mails and phone texts. For example, the head of a company may find it untidy and disrespectful if their employee answers their messages with a simple ''ok.'' even though it wouldn't be intentional. In conclusion, although online applications have helped workers to connect and with each other speedily, it has also increased the risk of mishap in delievering the tone of the message between the working subordinates. And thus, the pros and cons of the trend are the same.