Some people say that parents should encourage their children to take part in organized group activities in their free time. Others say that it is important for children to learn how to occupy themselves on their own. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays parents are less likely to put pressure on their children to excel only in academics,Meanwhile, they are encouraging their kids to participate in extra-curricular activities in their free time, However, it can be argued that a child should not be forced to do these instead they need to teach how to occupy themselves on their own. In my opinion, it is parents’ responsibility to find the talent of their kids and encourage them to excel in those apart from academics. Firstly, as far as I am concerned current generation kids have more opportunities to excel in other activities outside of their books. During my childhood, there was a belief that only outperforming in academics will make a good future. Millennial parents are motivating their kids to indulge in learning activities which will help in boosting self-confidence and overall personal development. For example, A few years back there has been a scholarship introduced in India known as “sports quota” that is for students who have merited in sports, even though they have a minimum pass percentile in academics they are eligible for a part of their fees as scholarship bourne by the government for continuing their university studies. Unequivocally, Indulging kids in these activities help them to think creatively, but also this should not turn in any pressure on them. Instead of insisting them to learn sports that we,like we might help them to find their own talent and guide them on how to excel in that in their own way. We cannot pressure them to learn a particular activity only because that would be giving them monetary benefits. It is important for parents to choose the activity they wish to learn and be supportive of them for excelling in the same. For instance, making a kid learn football in his free time while he is having his interest towards drawing is peer pressure for him, therefore he would not be able to achieve the same. To conclude, I believe it is important to encourage a kid on learning organized activities similarly that should be the ones he is interested in learning, instead of the ones we need him to learn, as a result, the children will learn new activities, improving their confidence level, Socializing with people.